Try

“Do. Or do not. There is no try.”

     -Yoda

I used to think this was a such a profound line. Yes, so true! Doers just do. They don’t need to think about their methods or motivations. Growing older however I’ve come to despise this truism that I once found so inspiring. Growing spiritually over the last year I’ve come to realize that intention is everything. Doing something for the right reasons has become much more important than mindlessness. In fact, a lot about the Jedi has come to annoy me. For all intents and purposes I now view them as unthinking, unfeeling, dogmatic, assholes.

The Jedis blind adherence to authority is exactly the worldview that I now fight against. I used to make six figures. I used to be an atheist. I used to be a binge drinker. I used to be a leftist. It worked for a while. At least I was happy. All those ideologies however, led to some major cognitive dissonance. What really woke me up was a simple question…

Who am I?

Im Grody. Ive won the game of life. I do and think what everyone else wants to do and think. Well, that just doesn’t cut it anymore. Whatever you do should be for the right reason. Mainly because YOU have decided that its worth doing. Not everyone else. Its easy to get discouraged when I look at what others have accomplished. But they’re not me. My life has become infinitely better now that I’ve taken the red pill. Im in better shape, I’m better with women, I have a better relationship with my family, and I’ve removed toxic influences from my life. It has all resulted in a sense of well being which, to me, is infinitely more valuable than mere happiness.

And so we come to the value of trying. You’re never going to be perfect, but you can strive for it. Can you do one push up? Can you take the time to look presentable this morning? Life is really the cumulation of small efforts. Its as simple as taking cold showers and skipping breakfast. Im not where I want to be yet. Thats ok because I’m making progress. I would love to meet other aware people but I don’t have much to bring to the table. Yet. It takes time. Someday I would love to stand next to Mike, Vic, and Chris and know that I deserve to be in their company. Until that day, I’m going to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

